European Competition - 2023 - Archidiaries

Architizer Announces 8th Annual A+Awards Winners

Winners in industry’s largest awards program spotlight the future of architecture
Architizer Announces 8th Annual A+Awards Winners


NEW YORK, NY, August 4, 2020 – Architizer, the world’s leading online platform for architecture and building-products, announces the winners of the 8th Annual Architizer A+Awards. Founded on the premise of democratizing architecture, the A+Awards is the industry’s largest and most international awards program and honors the best architecture, spaces, and products from across the globe.

In response to global upheaval, this season’s theme– The Future of Architecture –elevates those designs that are transforming society and the built environment for generations to come. 2020 winners includes 194 innovative projects and products by renowned industry leaders and emerging talents, among them:

  • Lake|Flato (Marine Education Center, Ocean Springs, Mississippi, USA)
  • Toshiko Mori Architect (Fass School and Teachers’ Residences, Fass, Senegal)
  • Carlo Ratti Associati (CURA: Connected Units for Respiratory Ailments, Turin, Italy)
  • Atelier TAO+C (Capsule Hotel in a Rural Library, Zhejiang, China)
  • MVRDV (Tainan Spring, Tainan, Taiwan)
  • BIG | Bjarke Ingels Group (The Twist / Kistefos Gallery, Jevnaker, Norway)

The full list of winners can be found here .A compendium of 2020 winners, published by Phaidon , will be released in early 2021.

“In this new generation, we are all ‘start architects,’ and not ‘star architects.’ The playing field of architecture is getting much wider, and thanks to new technology and media, we can ask what is possible, not just what is profitable.” Chris Precht, Precht Founder and A+Awards Winner”

In its 8th season, the A+Awards received over 5,000 entries from 100+ countries, with a special emphasis on honoring projects that respond to imminent global challenges such as climate change, urbanization and migration, rising inequity, and pandemic. Notable Jurors included Amanda Levete (Principal, AL_A), Christian Benimana (Director, Africa Design Centre), David de Rothschild (explorer and climate activist), Aric Chen (curator, Design Miami/Basel), Neri Oxman (designer and faculty, MIT Media Lab), and many more. A Jury-selected Winner and a Popular Choice Winner were awarded in each of the 115 categories, with over 400,000 votes cast by the voting public.

In addition to the Jury and Popular Choice winners, Special Honoree Awards are being presented to six key works this year. With projects ranging from rural community centers to national transportation infrastructure, these Honoree Awards demonstrate the extraordinary impact of architecture at both local and global scales and highlight works that act as new models for communities and cities worldwide. The 2020 Honoree Awards include:

  • Beijing Daxing International Airport (Zaha Hadid Architects)
  • Thammasat University Urban Rooftop Farm (LANDPROCESS)
  • Temporary Site of Shengli Market (LUO studio)
  • Solar Carve (40 Tenth Ave) (Studio Gang)
  • MuseumLab (Koning Eizenberg Architecture)
  • Pingelly Recreation and Cultural Centre (iredale pedersen hook architects and Advanced Timber Concepts Studio)
  • “I am honored to accept this award and to join other recipients whom I have long admired and respected. As an industry, let’s consider these awards an incentive to continually improve our future work, rather than simply a recognition of what we have accomplished in the past.”

-Carlo Ratti, Carlo Ratti Associati Founder and A+Award Winner

Also back for its sixth edition, Phaidon’s annual compendium ARCHITIZER: The World’s Best Architecture will feature 2020 winners from the Architecture categories. This stunning hardbound book will be released in early 2021 and is the definitive guide to the year’s best buildings and spaces. Architizer will also launch a companion competition, the A+Firm Awards , honoring the designers behind the world’s best projects, in Fall 2020.

2020 Winners Gallery

2020 Special Honorees Gallery

High resolution images and credits

2020 A+Awards Architecture Jury

2020 A+Awards Product Design Jury


Leave a Reply